Via Francigena

Via Francigena of the South – 2020 cultural award WINNER

Picture of Redazione AEVF
Redazione AEVF

The extension of the Via Francigena in the South is a winner of the award “Destination of Sustainable Cultural Tourism 2020” in the category Maritime, Coastal and Aquatic Heritage.

The European Association of the Via Francigena ways EAVF was awarded this prestigious prize on 22 October 2020 during an online conference “Post-pandemic recovery of European Tourism through Culture, Heritage and Creativity” hosted by the European Cultural Tourism Network ECTN.

The prize was awarded by Anne Grady from the European Commission DG EAC – Education, Youth, Sport and Culture. The winners and runners-up were selected by the award jury, composed of representatives of Europa Nostra, European Travel Commission, NECSTouR and the European Commission, out of over 40 applications received from 16 countries (including 4 non-EU).

The EAVF is honoured to receive this prize which provides greater visibility to the Via Francigena of the South. Via Francigena of the South, in major parts running across coastal lines of the Tyrrhenian, Adriatic and Ionian seas presents an excellent example of regional cooperation and sustainable use of cultural resources to promote ethical tourism and foster economic growth.

Rich in culture and nature, blue bays and sunny beaches, breath-taking landscapes and fantastic gastronomy, the Via Francigena of the South is a blueprint of a long-distance thematic route, which greatly contributes to the UN Sustainable Development Goals 2030.

More information: 


European Travel Commission

Europa Nostra

Via Francigena of the South