Via Francigena

Via Francigena in the South competes for an award for Coastal Heritage development

Redazione AEVF
Redazione AEVF

The European Association of the Via Francigena Ways submitted a candidacy of the route’s extension to Santa Maria di Leuca to the award “Destination of Sustainable Cultural Tourism 2020”.

The Award, led by the European Cultural Tourism Network (ECTN), enhances the visibility of European cultural tourism destinations and creates a platform for sharing experience and knowledge. The Award, realised in partnership with Europa Nostra and the European Travel Commission, has been organised since 2014.

The EAVF proudly presented the extension of the Via Francigena in the South – from Rome to Santa Maria di Leuca (900 km). The extension is a result of cooperation between the southern regions in partnership with the EAVF, in consultations with the Italian Ministry of Culture and the European Institute of Cultural Routes. This route was officially approved by the EAVF General Assembly on 18 October 2019.

This extension brings new opportunities for the regions in terms of partnerships, employment opportunities and tourism development. This new route is a dream itinerary of each pilgrim and walker, presenting incredible cultural and natural wonders on the way from Rome to Santa Maria di Leuca. 

The winners of the contest will be announced at the International Conference on Cultural Tourism in Europe on 22-24 October 2020 in Krk / Rijeka, Croatia.

The Via Francigena has already won this award in the category “Transnational Thematic Tourism Products including Cultural Routes” in 2019.

More information:

Via Francigena in the South