Via Francigena

The Via Francigena receives a prestigious award for Best Destinations for Sustainable Cultural Tourism 2019

Picture of Redazione AEVF
Redazione AEVF

The European Association of the Via Francigena Ways received a prestigious prize of the Best Destinations for Sustainable Cultural Tourism 2019 awarded by the European Cultural Tourism Network (ECTN), Brussels, Belgium.

The Via Francigena, the Council of Europe Cultural route, was given the second place in the category “Transnational Thematic Tourism Products including Cultural Routes“. The international jury took into consideration the development of the Via Francigena in the cultural, socio-economic, tourism and sustainable development areas along the entire route.

The awards ceremony took place on 25 October 2019 in Granada (Spain) within the XII International Conference on Cultural Tourism in Europe in the presence of representatives of the European Commission and other international organizations, regions and local authorities from twelve European countries.

The Prize, created in partnership with Europa Nostra, NECSTouR and European Travel Commission, is awarded by the ECTN since 2014 and is themed around cultural destinations, local communities, associations, businesses, citizens and tourists, the gastronomy and traditions contributing to the sustainability and ethical tourism.

“It was a very useful event to promote the “new ” 3,000 km European Via Francigena and an important opportunity to present the extension of the Francigena path to Apulia, Italy on the international level – comments the European Association of the Via Francigena Ways (EAVF ) – The Via Francigena promotes the development of an ethical and sustainable route, supports cooperation and economic development of local communities and, finally, can be considered an excellent example of a destination that embraces the objectives of responsible tourism“.

The awards ceremony was attended by the EAVF President, Mr Massimo Tedeschi and the EAVF Director Mr Luca Bruschi.

To learn more:

All rights reserved