Via Francigena

The Via Francigena on the Dauni Mountains

Redazione AEVF
Redazione AEVF

The Via Francigena is an historical path, which firstly lead from Canterbury to Rome and then to Jerusalem. It has been travelled during the Middle Ages by pilgrims and crusaders, and it passed through the whole region of Puglia, starting from the Dauni Mountains.

Let’s walk through it again on foot, just like the pilgrims used to do: it is the best way to get in touch with the idyllic landscapes, the little villages, the holy sites of Christianity.

We start from the San Vito passage to discover the French-Occitan area of Puglia, composed by the Villages of Faeto and Celle di San Vito. 

Along the way we will stop at the ancient Sant’Uite Tavern and at the ruins of the little rocky San Vito Church. A small deviation towards the south and we will find ourselves in Orsara di Puglia, where an Abby dominates the Cavern dedicated to San Michele.

We go back on the Francigena until we reach the Angevin Celle di San Vito, the smallest village of Puglia, which gives us timeless glimpses.

After we have passed the Buccolo Mountain and the territories of Casteluccio Valmaggiore, the descent starts towards Piana, which leads us to Troia. The holy road passes lengthwise through the city, moving along holy buildings of immeasurable beauty, like the Church and the Cathedral of San Basilio.

From Troia we can choose whether to proceed South-East towards the main Portuguese ports, or to travel the Lombardic Road to reach the HolyMountain and the Sanctuary of San Michele on the Sant’Angelo Mountain.

Source: ViaggiareInPuglia